Goldschmidt, Greinke win Gold Glove Awards

First baseman earns third honor, pitcher wins fourth straight

Goldschmidt, Greinke win Gold Glove Awards

D-backs first baseman Paul Goldschmidt and pitcher Zack Greinke both won Rawlings National League Gold Glove Awards for 2017.

2017 Gold Glove winners

Goldschmidt won his third career Gold Glove Award, the most by any player in franchise history. He also won in 2013 and 2015. Greinke, meanwhile, won the defensive honor for a fourth straight season, the past two coming with the D-backs.

Goldschmidt finished ahead of the Reds' Joey Votto and the Cubs' Anthony Rizzo, the two other finalists. Greinke bested the Brewers' Zach Davies and the Braves' R.A. Dickey.

Greinke is the fourth NL pitcher to win the award four years in a row since its inception in 1959, joining Bobby Shantz (1961-64), Bob Gibson (1965-73) and Greg Maddux (1990-2002, 2004-08).

Greinke is also the fifth pitcher in Major League history to win multiple Gold Glove Awards with more than one team, having won his first two with the Dodgers. The other four pitchers to hold that distinction: Jim Kaat (Twins, White Sox and Phillies), Mark Langston (Mariners and Angels), Mike Mussina (Orioles and Yankees) and Maddux (Cubs and Braves).

Goldschmidt is the seventh first baseman to earn both All-Star and Gold Glove honors in the same season three or more times, joining Steve Garvey, Todd Helton, Keith Hernandez, Don Mattingly, Eddie Murray and Bill White.

In 151 games at first base this season, Goldschmidt had a .997 fielding percentage, 103 assists and 1,254 putouts. He was also involved in 116 double plays. Goldschmidt tied for second (with Carlos Santana and Mitch Moreland) among MLB first basemen with 10 defensive runs saved.

Greinke starts 1-6-3 DP

Greinke posted a perfect 1.000 fielding percentage, and his 56 total chances without an error were the most by an NL pitcher since the Cardinals' Adam Wainwright (61) in 2013. Greinke was the only NL pitcher this season to have a 1.000 fielding percentage and at least 200 innings pitched.

Complete 2017 Awards coverage

Goldschmidt could add another honor to his trophy case next week, as he's one of three finalists for NL Most Valuable Player, along with Votto and Marlins slugger Giancarlo Stanton. The MVP awards in both leagues will be announced Nov. 16 on MLB Network.

Austin Laymance is a reporter for This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.