Will Yu Climb The Hill To Kansas City With Us?

PHOENIX — The Arizona Diamondbacks announced today they have teamed up with their fellow defending West Division champions, the Texas Rangers, as both teams seek to get their candidates voted onto the All-Star team in the MLB.com Final Vote, presented by Firestone. D-backs second baseman Aaron Hill and Rangers’ right-hander Yu Darvish are among five candidates in each league eligible to make the All-Star team.

“We’re encouraging all our fans who are voting for Aaron to also cast a vote for Yu Darvish and we hope the Rangers fans will do the same for Hill,” said D-backs President & CEO Derrick Hall. “Aaron was so popular in Canada during his time with the Blue Jays, we’re also hopeful that our Canadian fans will vote for Darvish while the great baseball fans in Japan will hopefully see how deserving Aaron is of their vote.”

The D-backs are encouraging fans on Twitter to use the hashtags #FinHillVote and #VoteYu when tweeting. Fans can visit MLB.com/vote and vote as often as possible, as there is no limit on the number of votes each fan can cast. You can also text N4 to 89269 to cast a vote for Hill.

Hill, 30, recently made national headlines after hitting for the cycle twice in 11 days, on June 18 vs. the Seattle Mariners and on June 29 at the Milwaukee Brewers, to become the second player in Major League Baseball history to accomplish the feat (also Babe Herman of the Brooklyn Robins on May 18 and July 24, 1931). Two other players, both of the American Association, hit for a pair of cycles in a season: John Reilly (1883 Cincinnati Red Stockings) and Tip O’Neill (1887 St. Louis Browns).

Among NL second baseman, Hill ranks first with 33 extra-base hits and a .511 slugging percentage, tied for first with 5 triples and 11 home runs, second with a .296 average, 82 hits, .357 on-base percentage, third with 38 RBI. Hill reached base safely in 21 straight games from April 12-May 4, tied for the ninth-longest streak in the NL this season.

Balloting is underway now and concludes at 1 p.m. Arizona time on Thursday. The winners, as chosen exclusively by online fan voting totals, will be announced on MLB.com shortly thereafter.