Now Commenting On:

Gibson becomes winningest manager in franchise history


PHOENIX -- Arizona Diamondbacks (@Dbacks) Manager Kirk Gibson became the franchise's winningest manager with his 338th regular-season win in a 7-4 victory over the Pittsburgh Pirates at Chase Field tonight.

Gibson's record-setting win surpassed Bob Melvin, who had 337 regular-season wins over 5 seasons at the helm from 2005-09. The complete listing of D-backs Managers by total career wins:


                                                               Regular Season           Postseason

Manager                  Seasons (Years)         W-L       (Pct.)          W-L   (Pct)

KIRK GIBSON      5 (2010-present)       338-340     (.499)            2-3 (.400)

Bob Melvin              5 (2005-09)               337-340     (.498)             3-4 (.429)

Bob Brenly               4 (2001-04)               303-262     (.536)           11-9 (.550)

Buck Showalter         3 (1998-2000)            250-236     (.514)             1-3 (.250)

A.J. Hinch                2 (2009-10)                89-123      (.420)             -

Al Pedrique               1 (2004)                      22-61      (.265)             -

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español