D-backs award Stewart Ijames, Brandon Sinnery with monthly honors

PHOENIX -The Arizona Diamondbacks (@Dbacks) named Short Season-A Hillsboro outfielder Stewart Ijames (pronounced Imes; @StewI_5) and Single-A Advanced Visalia right-handed pitcher Brandon Sinnery the organization's Minor League Player- and Pitcher-of-the-Month for August, respectively.


Ijames, 26, combined to hit .312 (29-for-93) with 3 doubles, 9 home runs and 28 RBI in 27 games in August between Rookie Advanced Missoula and Hillsboro. He ranked among all Short-Season League players in home runs (1st), walks (T-1st, 21), RBI (2nd), runs scored (T-2nd, 24) and total bases (4th, 59). Ijames recorded 5-straight multi-hit games from Aug. 26-29, going 11-for-21, along with a 2-homer (1 grand slam) and career-high 6 RBI game on Aug. 27 vs. Helena. A native of Owensboro, Ky., he was signed by the D-backs as a Minor League free agent on July 19. The University of Louisville product played the 2013 season with the independent Frontier League's Washington Wild Things.


Sinnery, 24, went 5-1 with a 2.35 ERA (10 ER in 38.1 IP) in 6 starts in August for the Rawhide. He tied for the Minor League-lead in wins during the month (with 9 others) and ranked third among all Single-A affiliates in innings. Sinnery tossed 14.0-scoreless innings from Aug. 22-28, which included a 4-hit shutout on Aug. 22 @ San Jose, and carries a 4-game winning streak into postseason play. The Orange, N.J. native was signed by the D-backs as a Minor League free agent on Feb. 17, 2013, after graduating from the University of Michigan.


Every month during the season, the D-backs Player Development staff chooses the player and pitcher most deserving of the honors based on nominations from coaches at each affiliate along with input from the Minor League coordinators. Below is a list of the overall winners as well as player nominated by each affiliate:









Stewart Ijames

Andy Marte

Brandon Drury

Rudy Flores

Jamie Westbrook


Brandon Sinnery

Kevin Munson

Aaron Blair

Brandon Sinnery

Anthony Banda








Stryker Trahan

Stewart Ijames

Gerard Hernandez

Francis Martinez


Dustin Loggins

Carlos Hernandez

Brad Keller

Erbert Gonzales & Rafael Pujols