Now Commenting On:

{"content":["replay" ] }

Padres lose challenge of out call on Smith

Padres lose challenge of out call on Smith play video for Padres lose challenge of out call on Smith

SAN DIEGO -- Padres manager Bud Black challenged the ruling on a Seth Smith ground ball in the bottom of the seventh Thursday night with his team trailing the D-backs, 5-0.

After review, the call was confirmed.

With the D-backs infield in a shift against the lefty Smith, he bounced a ground ball to the left side of the infield that third baseman Aaron Hill fielded and fired to first. The ball arrived with Smith still a couple of steps away from the bag, but it was wide to the home-plate side of the base.

However, first baseman Mark Trumbo snagged it and landed a sort of behind-the-back tag on Smith. First-base umpire Marvin Hudson ruled Smith out, which is when Black challenged.

After the call was confirmed, D-backs reliever Will Harris completed a 1-2-3 inning.

Scott Miller is a contributor to MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

{"content":["replay" ] }
{"content":["replay" ] }
Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español